old forge


Display Boards

The Heritage Centre boasts a number of interesting display boards depicting life in the parish and its surrounds. Below are some examples of boards currently on display.

There was a Preventive service in Gerrans in 1820 with Coastguards formed in 1822. In 1912 the horse drawn Portscatho Rocket Brigade called out to a German barque ashore on Porthcurnick beach.
Farming display
Reference to farming in the parish is first noted in 1646 and acreage of Gerrans recorded between 1680-1760. Also a picture of the horsedrawn engine at Treloan
Pilchard Fishing in Gerrans Bay
In 1626 there were 18 seiners in Gerrans and the last great catch was in 1908 with 5,402,000 fish caught.
Bishop of Exeter's application for school masters licence between 1692-1708. A purpose built school in 1854 destroyed by fire in 1982.
Wesleyan, Bible Christian and Independant Methodist chapels were built over a period from 1799.
Wartime memories
Life in the village continued during the Great War albeit with women doing the work of men now serving in the forces and is depicted in many press cuttings